Town of Yacolt Emergency Medical Service District No. 1

RESOLUTION NO. 624

WHEREAS, the Town Council of the Town of Yacolt, Clark County, Washington, is proposing submission to the voters of the District at an election to be held therein on August 6, 2024, a proposition authorizing a levy to be made in 2024 for collection in 2025 upon all taxable property within the District of \$271,048, the estimated cost to be approximately \$1.30 per \$1,000 assessed valuation in excess of the maximum tax levy specified by law for Emergency Medical Service Districts without a vote of the electors for the General Fund of the District. The proceeds of the levy are to be used for operating funds, maintenance and salaries of the North Country Emergency Medical Service for an estimated period of three (3) years; and

WHEREAS, it is certain that the money which will be available for 2025-2027 will be insufficient to pay the costs of the Medical Program and to meet the other general expenses of the Emergency Medical Service District and that an additional tax levy of \$271,048 needs to be made for the purposes outlined above; and

WHEREAS, this situation requires that an election be held in the District; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Town Council, Town of Yacolt, Clark County, Washington, as follows:

Section 1. It is hereby found and declared that a need exists requiring the calling of an election, and the County Auditor of Clark County, Ex-Officio supervisor of elections for said County, is hereby requested to find and declare the existence of such need. The Auditor is further requested and directed to call and conduct an election in the District in the manner provided by law to be held therein on August 6, 2024 between the hours of 7:00 am and 8:00 pm (D.T.) for the purpose of submitting to the electors of the District for their approval or rejection the question whether or not a tax levy shall be made in 2024 for collection in 2025 upon all the taxable property of the District for the General Fund of the District of \$271,048 (the estimated cost to be approximately \$1.30 per \$1,000 assessed valuation) in excess of the maximum tax levy provided by law for Emergency Medical Service Districts without a vote of the electors of the District, the proceeds thereof to be used for the sole purpose of continuing the operation, maintenance, and the staff salaries of the North Country Emergency Medical Service for an estimated three (3) year period.

PASSAGE REQUIREMENTS. Pursuant to RCW 84.52.052, this ballot measure must receive at least 77 votes to meet validation requirements and at least 60% of the ballots voted must be YES votes.

<u>Section 2</u>. The "Ballot Title" of the aforesaid proposition shall be as follows:

PROPOSITION NO. 1 EMERGENCY MEDICAL PROGRAM EXCESS LEVY

The Town Council, Town of Yacolt, Clark County, Washington, adopted Resolution No. 624, referring to the voters the proposition described herein. This proposition allows the electors of the Town of Yacolt, to authorize a one-year excess levy to be made in 2024 for collection in 2025 in the total amount of \$271,048, at an approximate tax rate of \$1.30 per \$1,000 of assessed valuation, with the proceeds of such excess levy to be used for maintenance, operation and staff salaries for the North Country Emergency Medical Service for an estimated three (3) year period. Should this tax levy be approved?

TAX LEVY . . . YES

TAX LEVY ... NO

<u>Section 3</u>. The Clerk of the Town of Yacolt is directed to certify to the County Auditor of Clark County, Ex-Officio supervisor of elections of said County, a copy of this Resolution showing its adoption by the Town Council, at least 45 days prior to the date of such election, and to perform such other duties as are necessary or required by law to the end that the question of whether or not said excess tax levy shall be made as herein provided for shall be submitted to the voters of Emergency Medical Service District at the aforesaid election.

ADOPTED this 8th day of April, 2024.

Attest:	
Clerk, Town of Yacolt	Mayor
Kands Peto Council Member	Marma Viray Council Member
Ronald Homola Council Member	Council Member